The Donut King

Indie Lens Pop-Up ~ The Donut King

Tuesday, May 25, 2021 (All day)
Wednesday, May 26, 2021 (All day)
Thursday, May 27, 2021 (All day)
Friday, May 28, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, May 29, 2021 (All day)
Sunday, May 30, 2021 (All day)
Monday, May 31, 2021 (All day)
Tuesday, June 1, 2021 (All day)
Wednesday, June 2, 2021 (All day)
Thursday, June 3, 2021 (All day)
Friday, June 4, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, June 5, 2021 (All day)
  • Virtual Event -- Access Info Below
A Cambodian refugee who escaped genocide and overcomes poverty to build a life for himself and hundreds of other immigrant families by baking America’s favorite pastry

The Donut King is Ted Ngoy’s rags-to-riches story of a refugee escaping Cambodia, arriving in America in 1975, and building an unlikely multimillion-dollar empire baking America’s favorite pastry, the donut. Ngoy sponsored hundreds of visas for incoming refugees and helped them get on their feet by teaching them the ways of the donut business. By 1979, he was living the American Dream—but a great rise often comes with a great fall. The Donut King is a tale of hard knocks, redemption, wealth, survival, risk, and donuts.

About Indie Lens Pop-Up

Indie Lens Pop-Up is a neighborhood series that brings people together for film screenings and community-driven conversations. Featuring documentaries seen on PBS's Independent Lens, Indie Lens Pop-Up draws local residents, leaders, and organizations together to discuss what matters most, from newsworthy topics and social issues, to family and community relationships. Make friends, share stories, and join the conversation. For more information, visit pbs.org/independentlens/indie-lens-pop-up.