Gray Wolf
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

Wolf Education Series: Part 1

Sunday, May 30, 2021 (All day)
Monday, May 31, 2021 (All day)
Tuesday, June 1, 2021 (All day)
Wednesday, June 2, 2021 (All day)
Thursday, June 3, 2021 (All day)
Friday, June 4, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, June 5, 2021 (All day)
Sunday, June 6, 2021 (All day)
Monday, June 7, 2021 (All day)
Tuesday, June 8, 2021 (All day)
Wednesday, June 9, 2021 (All day)
Thursday, June 10, 2021 (All day)
Friday, June 11, 2021 (All day)
Saturday, June 12, 2021 (All day)
Sunday, June 13, 2021 (All day)
Monday, June 14, 2021 (All day)
Tuesday, June 15, 2021 (All day)
  • Virtual Event -- Access Info Below
Wolf Management and Wolf-Prey Interactions

Colorado Parks & Wildlife is hosting a series of education sessions dedicated to the gray wolf reintroduction program. This is the first in the series, recorded on April 28, 2021. Learn about what it means to have wolves on the landscape, how experts from other states approach wolf management and how wildlife experts develop management plans for other species.

Speakers:

  • Diane Boyd (retired from Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks) describes state management of wolves.
  • Jon Horne (Idaho Fish and Game) presents on wolf-ungulate interactions.

In November 2020, Colorado voters passed Proposition 114, a ballot initiative to introduce gray wolves on the Western Slope. Colorado is part of the gray wolf’s native range, but wolves were eradicated from the state by the 1940s. Over the past decade, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service restored gray wolves into Wyoming, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico and Arizona. Individual wolves, and most recently a group of wolves in Moffat County, have been periodically migrating into Colorado. Now, by voter mandate, wolves will be reintroduced to Colorado no later than December 31, 2023.

As the Colorado Parks & Wildlife Commission works to develop a plan to robust, adaptive management plan to reintroduce wolves in Colorado, they are holding statewide hearings about scientific, economic, and social considerations and hosting education sessions like these.

Want to learn more about Colorado wolf reintroduction?

Colorado Parks & Wildlife staff have worked across areas of expertise, scientific backgrounds and partner agencies to prepare this FAQ page in response to significant public outreach. This page will be updated and expanded as the agency works through the reintroduction and public involvement process.
 

 

Run Time: 

1 hour 55 min.

Bud's Watch Parties

During this time while we're staying safer at home, Bud Werner Memorial Library is organizing special opportunities to share films you might have seen in Library Hall. Instead, we're watching them online, virtually together at home. The library hopes that you'll enjoy streaming these inspired films, and come together for community conversations to share the experiences.